Intergovernmental Agreement Iss

There is no fixed percentage of ownership for the entire space station. On the contrary, Article 5 of the IGA stipulates that each partner retains jurisdiction and control over the items it has recorded and the personnel in or on the space station that are its nationals. [37] Therefore, for each ISS module, only one partner retains exclusive ownership. Nevertheless, agreements for the use of space stations are more complex. The IGA creates the conditions for a second layer of agreements between the partners called «Memoranda of Understanding» (MOUs), four of which exist between NASA and each of the other four partners. There are no MOUs between ESA, Roskosmos, CSA and JAXA, as NASA is the designated manager of the ISS. MOUs are used to describe in more detail the roles and responsibilities of partners. Dr. Alexander V. Yakovenko is deputy permanent representative of the Russian Federation to international organizations in Vienna. Head of the Russian delegation to the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS). Acadians, Russian Space Academy.

From 1994 to 1998, he was head of the Russian delegation in government negotiations on the International Space Station project. A fourth legal layer of agreements implements and complements the four MOUs. Among them is the ISS Code of Conduct, which establishes criminal justice, anti-harassment and certain other rules of conduct applicable to ISS crew members. [10] manufactured in 1998. A third layer consists of contractual agreements exchanged or trading in the rights and obligations of partners, including the 2005 commercial framework agreement between NASA and Roscosmos, which defines the conditions under which NASA purchases seats on Soyuz crew carriers and cargo capabilities on Progress Unmanned carriers. The legal framework for the International Space Station is based on three levels of international cooperation agreements. The allocation rights of the European Space Agency (8.3% of the resources used by the space station (e.g. B communications) and 8.3% of the occupancy time, or about 13 hours per week.

With regard to the housing of users (e.g. B laboratories), ESA has entered into an exchange agreement with NASA to use 51% of the European Columbus laboratory in exchange for shuttle transport services. The International Space Station program is bound by a complex series of legal, political and financial arrangements among the sixteen nations participating in the project, which govern ownership of the various elements, rights of occupation and use, as well as crew rotation and supply responsibilities for the International Space Station. It was designed in 1984 by President Ronald Reagan during the Space Station Freedom project, as it was originally called. [2] These agreements connect the five space agencies and their respective International Space Station programs and regulate how they interact on a daily basis to maintain the operation of the stations, from spacecraft traffic management to the station and the use of space and crew time. In March 2010, the International Space Station Program Directors of each of the five partner agencies received the Aviation Week Laureate Award in the space category[3] and the ISS program with the 2009 Collier Trophy. . . .